Google Home

Just got my brand new Google Home and it’s truly a fantastic bit of kit. Google are onto a winner here as I knew they would be - their voice recognition and ability to answer queries and understand context and nuances is lightyears ahead of what Amazon are able to do.

We spent most of last night at a family gathering pushing it to it’s limits and 5 or 6 people all asking it to do different things and it very rarely stumbled. Also we were using it in a living room with a Chromecast connected to the projector and a Chromecast Audio connected to the speakers and it understood the set up perfectly - things like “Play Orange Is The New Black on Netflix on Projector Chromecast” followed by “Play a Prince song on Chromecast Audio” worked perfectly straight away.

Also connects really well to several other apps I use like Todoist. Found all the podcasts I listen to regularly etc.

I’m no coder, but I’m wondering how easy it would be to make a Monzo integration now! Might just have to bring it into the office soon for everyone to check it out :slight_smile:

5 Likes

I really want one of these. Not on sale in the UK yet, right?

Waiting for Google Home (along with Google Wifi) to launch in the UK but my mixed negative experience with Alexa’s constant false activations, buggy Hue support and limited skills have left me sceptical of these kinds of devices again.

Interesting to pit it alongside other AIs like Alexa, Siri and Cortana :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

2 Likes

I have a playlist full of these kinds of videos on YouTube. :joy: