Do I really need a business account?

I’m a sole trader, currently using my Monzo account for bank transfers from customers, and managing my money with pots. (I really like using Monzo BTW.)

Nobody accesses my account but me. I received an email explaining some chages, and it said I mustn’t use the current account for business purposes. Can anyone tell me why the need for change?

1 Like

I believe it’s always been like that. Monzo have a separate business specific account product for business use.

Welcome to the Community first of all! :wave:

Current accounts have always been for personal use, rather than business, but it hasn’t always been widely known among our customers. This email was sent so that everyone is better informed, and now that we’re able to offer more people business accounts it seemed like a good time for the update :briefcase:

If you’re receiving payments from customers, then it sounds like this is business use, so we’d definitely urge you to join the waitlist (if you haven’t done already!) - https://monzo.com/business/

If you’ve any specific questions, fire away, or drop the in-app support team a message :blush:

11 Likes

It’s totally at the discretion of the bank. It seems that Monzo has changed its T&Cs sometime between contract terms v1.7 on 28th March 2019 and v1.9 on 23rd January 2020. V1.8, whilst linked, is peculiarly unavailable on the Monzo website.

According to Monzo T&Cs they don’t want people using the personal account for business purposes. They don’t define what they mean by business or whether that includes sole traders.

Bear in mind that, as a sole trader, there is no actual requirement to even have a separate account from your own, but I’d suggest having a dedicated account will likely make your life easier in accounting terms.