Currency conversions for digital nomads

Hello.

I am a UK national, i work as a freelance web designer and the majority of my income is in USD. I spend a lot of time abroad, specifically in south east asia. Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesi and the like.

At the moment i take a double hit as my money has to convert from USD into pounds sterling when it hits my UK bank and then again when i withdraw in Thai baht (or wherever i am ), not to mention the actual withdrawal fees.

Would a monzo card save me money on all of these currency conversions compared to regular banks?
That combined with zero withdrawal fees while abroad would be an absolute god send.

Thank you

1 Like

Monzo will save you money when you spend sterling in your Monzo account abroad. Please note that foreign ATM withdrawals cost Monzo money so some costs or limitations may apply to foreign Monzo ATM withdrawals in the future.

What Monzo canā€™t do is protect you from the costs and exchange losses in getting your US currency salary into sterling. Monzo wonā€™t charge you for receiving that sterling into your Monzo account though.

If you receive in dollars and have costs in other currencies you might want to consider Revoult. Itā€™s not entirely free but likely to help eliminate conversion costs. There are some limits on transaction values though.

You may also need to consider your domicile for tax purposes too (where you live for tax purposes).

2 Likes

Yeah monzo will be able to offer no fees on currency conversion and then give you the MasterCard wholesale rate.
In terms of atm withdrawals abroad, monzo are looking at fair charges for this since it currently costs them quite a lot.

1 Like

My advice would be to use a service like TransferWise to transfer the money to your U.K. bank account which will probably save you money there.

Mike & Josh have covered the upcoming changes to ATM limitā€™s / fees :slight_smile:

1 Like