The 'Something for Nothing' State

The something for nothing state is something that really annoys me, especially when I see it here. The place I see it most, is on the Students section. Many want the perks that the big banks can give, which (as I see it) Monzo can’t possibly afford.

I’ve not been to university, I don’t have any student debt, and I personally cannot think of anything worse. However, many go and love it which is great. But why do students want and/or need any of these perks? At the end of the day, the big banks want you to sign up to them and then get stuck in a rut with them until your dying days.

If I was a student, I would much rather have a bank account as smart as me. A bank account that is shaping the way for the future of banking. Yes, I would rather have a Monzo account than a legacy style account.

Alll views above are my own, and not those of anyone else unless they state somewhere that they are.

3 Likes

I’m a student and I love Monzo and it would be my main spending card. I’m pretty sure that Monzo cannot afford to give out interest-free overdrafts to students, but some other banks do offer them. For example, Santander gives students £1500 overdraft interest-free. Trust me that overdraft would come in handy more than once when you are in uni. I don’t expect Monzo to provide those but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t make use of these if someone else provides them.

1 Like

Be wary of comparing banks overdrafts – some give ‘guaranteed’ amounts, others ‘up to’ amounts – so make sure you’re comparing like for like.

However, you must ask for an extension or renewal each year, even on guaranteed limits – as they are not applied automatically.

Be wary of applying for the maximum overdraft possible just because you can. If you budget well you may not need it as anything other than a buffer, and the smaller your overdraft, the less likely you are to get caught in a dangerous spending spiral.