Monzonaut AMA - Theo - Borrowing Data Scientist

The long awaited return of the Monzonaut AMAs! :tada:

We’re back with our good friend @TheoGibson who is a Data Scientist within our Borrowing team :man_scientist: :bar_chart:

I asked Theo for a little bio and this is what he’s given us:

I’m currently a data scientist at Monzo, working in London. I work in borrowing which involves; developing our decisioning strategies (deciding who we lend to vs don’t lend to), understanding how customers are interacting with our existing overdraft and loan products and how customers are using those products once they take them out.

The is going to be answering questions this Friday, so feel free to get those questions in as soon as you can :pray:

9 Likes

When do Credit Pots launch?

13 Likes

You mentioned loan extensions were on the roadmap. How long until there’s a release for this?

2 Likes

Is there any internal discussion at all around reworking the interaction of overall account + pot balances and overdraft fees? I.e. not being charged overdraft fees if you are not in fact borrowing any money from Monzo.

Anecdotally, doesn’t seem to be a popular or understandable (I know the reasons put forward, but it simply doesn’t make things simpler imo and feels deeply ‘unfair’) decision whenever it comes up on the forum.

8 Likes

Do you mean things like being able to pay them from a bills pot, or not getting charged overdraft fees if you have money in a pot?

Or both :laughing:

2 Likes

I meant this! Will edit to be clearer :persevere:

2 Likes

Hello @TheoGibson :wave:

Can I borrow some money to start the Bank of Ordog please? I’ll just pay you back when it’s a success so no monthly repayment agreement is necessary :wink:

5 Likes

Can I have a bigger overdraft and a smaller APR please?

More seriously, do you automatically review these and offer bigger amounts / better terms, or does the customer need to make a request?

3 Likes