An update on our work to prevent purchase scams

Hi everyone :wave:

Last year we shared some of the things we’ve been working on to tackle fraud here at Monzo. And we wanted to come back with a bit of an update about how we’ve evolved this work over the past year, how it’s been going and what you can expect next. Today we’ll be focusing on purchase scams.

But first, let me introduce myself.

I’m Chris, I’m a Senior Fraud Analyst. It’s my job to understand the types of Fraud and Scams that Monzo customers are at risk of falling victim to, and work with our product teams to come up with ideas for how to stop them from happening.

An overview of purchase scams

A purchase scam is when someone attempts to buy goods or services from a seller, typically one they met online. A customer will make the payment by bank transfer and expect to get what they paid for.

But the fraudulent seller will take the money and end all communication with the buyer, leaving the customer with no goods and no refund.

Purchase scams primarily start on social media. We recently reviewed a sample of purchase scam claims from this year and found nearly 40% started on Facebook alone, through public posts or on Marketplace.

People were often buying tickets for things like music concerts or sporting events like football matches.

We see fraudsters using a combination of tactics to entice people to pay:

• The event may have limited tickets available and given the high demand, the fraudster will put pressure on the buyer.
  • They may sell tickets very close to the time of the event, sometimes days before, to encourage customers to buy immediately.
  • The fraudster might lower the price, so it feels like a deal that’s hard to resist.

They’ll always ask for money up-front, before sending the items.