Using topic modelling to understand customer saving goals

Hi, I’m Emma, and I’m a Product Data Scientist here at Monzo :wave:

This blog walks you through one of the ways we use data at Monzo to learn about our customers so we can best serve their needs. We know that our customers love Pots and use them for all sorts of reasons. In this blog I walk through how we used a method called topic modelling to categorise Pots into different themes so we can understand which Pots are used for holidays, life events, or just general savings.

I hope you find it interesting!

15 Likes

Interesting blog, feels a little big brother (what kind of pots people have) but I guess that’s standard for most banks in terms of understanding the customer and I can see how this data is useful to understand product direction and how best to suit customer needs.

Thanks for writing it, love to see it and really enjoy reading things like this about how different companies use data to model and understand development direction.

3 Likes

“And our longest Pot name is 574 words”

I’m curious :thinking:

and also, I want to beat that record.

2 Likes

Interesting piece, but I was left feeling like it was only half an article? It would be interesting to see how those pot names then drive forward the products you create? Because if they aren’t then it is just machine learning for the sake of machine learning. The data has little value unless it is used. Would love to see a Part 2.

2 Likes

Really interesting post - thank you for making it available.

I love reading this kind of stuff and getting an insight into the inner workings of the operation.

I’d agree with the other comment posted above - it would be great to see a Part 2.

Just how does this data and these analytics drive product change - does it feed gradual incremental implementation of new features or is it potentially a springboard for something new, or a combination of both?

Again, many thanks,
David