The Refactathon: Cleaning up old code

Backend engineer Jack Kleeman explains why we held an internal hackathon to clean up some old code!

20 Likes

If all banks regularly did this they wouldn’t be up the bog of eternal stench without a paddle.

Those legacy banks aren’t touching their 1960’s/70’s/80’s code with a barge pole for fear of a TSB style meltdown, while Monzo are rewriting 2015 code…

I wonder who is going to be around in 20 years and who is going to be in the toilet? :thinking:

6 Likes

Thanks for this update! Really interesting insight into the process and a model that I imagine you will continue to utilise in future :grin:

1 Like

Have your coding standards changed dramatically in the last couple of years? It sounds like a LOT of refactoring after a relatively short period.

As a developer myself for many years, a week seems a very short timeframe for the number of changes that have been made. My biggest worry would be whether everything has been tested thoroughly enough.

Not knocking the team, sounds like they’ve done a great job. Just surprised at the amount of changes in the really short time frame!

They just built a bank in three years..

16 Likes

on that note, imagine what they can build in 6 years then…

5 Likes

@bea: There’s two different copies of the blog post live on the blog home page and in the RSS feed, one from the 30th Nov and one from the 4th Dec!

Two banks…?

7 Likes

Two banks? Two continents? Two planets? Who knows!

One bank.

4 Likes

Er, OK… not sure I get your point? I’m talking about changing over a hundred thousand lines of code in a week and the risks that involves.

My point about coding standards is that I’m surprised developers writing code three years ago were doing it in a wildly different fashion to new developers who have joined the company recently. Surely they all work to the same coding standards?

1 Like