Schengen Visa Rules

I’m going to Bordeaux next weekend.

For a Chinese national with a Schengen Visa issued by France, can they exit the airport in Zurich to visit a hotel?

If anyone has any details on this, or sources of info, I’d be very appreciative, this is my first time & I’ve been searching for 2 hours.

Failing this, I get a direct flight to Paris, drain the bank a/c and go there.

NanoOp and hotels :see_no_evil:

3 Likes

9 hour layover

Why wouldn’t they be allowed? They have a passport?

You make the strangest threads.

2 Likes

I suggest researching Schengen visas then… It is very clear cut for me, but not her.

1 Like

Sightseeing? Or just don’t specify that it’s a hotel?

No but I’d be happy to stay in the airport, if it wasn’t for 9 hours between 10pm-7am (ish).

We need somewhere to crash right? I’m really unsure how it works, and stressed.

You just need to research entry requirements for Switzerland. You could also look at getting an airside hotel if you are worried about entering Switzerland.

Edit: two minutes of research… suggests you will be fine to enter as Switzerland is a Schengen member and you have a Schengen visa.

3 Likes

Surely if you have a Schengen visa the point is you can roam around the Schengen area? It shouldn’t matter who issues it.

4 Likes

Still no need to declare the purpose. It’s the same to enter Schengen to shag in a per hour hotel as it is to buy a pack of cigarettes or to see some sights and eat in a restaurant.

Just ask “can she enter Schengen”

2 Likes

That’s not what we’re doing! I’m asking specifically due to the need being to sleep during the layover! Going sightseeing in France!

Going hiking in North Yorks this weekend too.

1 Like

Switzerland is in Schengen so yes they can. A Schengen visa is valid in all Schengen countries regardless of which one issued it.

Schengen countries: Schengen Area - The 27 Member Countries of the Schengen Zone

Colleague has a Chinese wife so I’ve been asked similar before.