Researching operations at Monzo: Building a product our customers never see 🔍

Hey everyone - I’m Luke :wave:

I wanted to share a blog I wrote that some of you may find interesting.

User Researchers at Monzo help us understand what different people need from our products, so that we’re building the right features in the right way. We don’t just apply those practices to our external products though: I’m a researcher in our Operations team, and work on a tool called ‘BizOps’ which is used by our customer operations (COps) team.

In the blog I’ve tried to shed some light on this unseen part of Monzo, and how user research helps us build an internal tool that’s every bit as good as the customer app.

If there’s any questions about what I’ve written or what I do here at Monzo, feel free to post them here and I’ll do my best to answer :blush:

15 Likes

Really interesting read @LukeK, thanks for sharing.

3 Likes

Thanks for swinging by @LukeK :wave:

3 Likes

All hail BizOps!

Such a good system, unlike other banks having 6+ account systems, we use 1 for the most part. :raised_hands:t3:

7 Likes

The systems I have seen other banks use would shock you Monzo are paving the way.

3 Likes

Chase’s current server room is advanced, with built-in operational redundancy:

For clarity, I am a minor Chase customer. Gratefully minor too.

5 Likes

One thing I’m curious about is, how much of this stuff is shared with or also used by the US team? Obviously the front-facing app is the same, which is nice in a way, but aside from US-specific stuff and stuff the US team won’t need yet because they’re not at sufficient scale, I imagine there would be a lot of commonality in needs.

1 Like

As I’ve understood, they’ve built the UK system from scratch* not using any of their legacy US platform.

(A lot of it is assembled from platform providers, like 10X, but you get the point!)

I’m surprised the app is the same / similar - can you point us to any screenshots of the US version?