Lasting Power of Attorney

Completely realise that this is not Fintech, but partner and I are just doing our wills and have been advised on LPA’s. We are considering using Co-Op for wills and just wondered if there was any advice out there about Wills and LPA cost and effective provision? R-

I’m not an expert, but LPA should be considered separately to a will.

A will is about what you want to happen after you die, Lasting Power of Attorney is about help managing your affairs while you are still alive.

A Health & Welfare Power of Attorney allows you to provide family/friends with the ability to make decisions on your healthcare if you lose the ability to do so (it’s morbid, but important as it may allow them to switch off your life support if you are brain dead, for example).

A Property and Financial Affairs Power of Attorney allows them to manage your property and financial accounts on your behalf, either before you lose capacity (to help you if you don’t want to worry about money) or after (as long as the power of attorney has been registered before the loss of capacity has occurred).

It’s worth doing all three (a will and both types of power of attorney) for both you and your partner. Also, it’s always worth talking to your close family about things like organ donation.

The gov.uk website has lots of articles to help you, and if you read the guides there then you are likely to find it fairly easy to create Power of Attorneys yourself.

Making a will yourself is a bit more difficult, so probably a good idea to stick to Co-op for that.

3 Likes

PS: I have no idea how old you are, or what your financial circumstances are, but it’s also worth thinking about how inheritance tax would be likely to affect your family, and potentially considering gifting or other (legal) ways to reduce your total wealth, therefore avoiding being taxed as highly as you would be if you did nothing.

1 Like