IOS 14 Photos issues - photos deleted at random

The Photos app on my iPhone on iOS 14 has been behaving strangely. Initially, it stopped being able to return search results - for example filtering photos by location, theme (e.g. “snow”) or people - including people it suggested. This issue was intermittent.

However, the latest issue is that is has deleted around 7,000 photos from the 22,000 I had. These are nowhere to be found on the device. I’ve been using iPhones since 2007, and the ability of my phone to store all my photos is pretty important to me, which is why the last few I’ve bought had the maximum storage (512 GB), including my latest iPhone 12 Pro.

Have any of you experienced similar issues? Can any of you offer any advice? I’ve had a couple of chats with Apple technical support and Photos engineers when the issue was only related to search, but it’s clearly got worse since then.

My suspicion is that the photos database got corrupted, and the app scrambled to delete some photos to recover. This is a bit of a dealbreaker for me. If I can’t trust the integrity and completeness of my data, I’m going to switch.

I have full archived backups, but as far as I can tell, getting to the photos would mean fully restoring those backups onto a device, copying the photos to iCloud Photos, then copying them back onto the iPhone. Since I no longer have a spare device with that kind of capacity, I’d have to delete my main iPhone and work from there - which means the whole operation would take me at least a full days’ work - not exactly what I though I was paying for when I bought into this echosystem - thanks, Apple! Unless Apple is willing to lend me a spare device.

Grateful for any useful suggestions!

There was one time when it was “indexing” when I tried to search for something. Not sure if any photos have been deleted though. How did you notice that they were gone?

1 Like

Can you see the missing photos at iCloud.com?

1 Like