Helping my daughter with..?

This could be a call out to all dads with daughters as it’s got me stumped.
So, she turns 18 next month, so she will be officially a adult. But she in art college on her last year! Been asking her about her dreams, passion and goals for the future. She has no NI number, no ID or bank or her own funds to her name! I’m a trained life coach, and I help clients with this problem of “purpose” but with my daughter, I get a shrug of the shoulders and then changes subject (she lives with her mum, not me). Her anxiety took a hit with all the stupid lockdowns, just trying to get her on the “grid”

Thanks for and ideas🙏

Having been a daughter with no life plans at 18 it might just be worth “being there” for her while she tests possible paths. She will try things and some will be for her and some won’t. But the joy in trying them all out is wonderful.

Maybe you can talk to her about setting up a bank account and stuff just so that she’s ready if a cool job opportunity crops up.

7 Likes

Why? That should have automatically been sent at 16

As a mum with an almost 18 year old, it’s tough. Lockdown messed up A levels due to the anxiety, so switched to a btec in game design. They do the degree in it at the local college as well so at least there’s a direction in place for the next few years.

4 Likes

Not sure how this is possible? If she has a birth certificate she’ll have an NI number at 16.

The forgot to send me mine so I had to fill in a form to get it

She’s got to 18 and never bought anything herself or worked?

1 Like

As others have said she’s got an NI number, is highly likely she got the letter with the number on and thought meh whatever. Its made its way into the bin. HMRC can resend it if she contacts them, they’ll either do it over the phone, where she has to answer questions to get access to it. Or if she can’t answer the questions correctly, there’s a form that would need to be completed.

1 Like