Electronics Ban | United States and United Kingdom

Electronics Ban | United States and United Kingdom

Today (21 March 2017) both the U. S. Department of Homeland Security and the British Government have implemented safety restrictions on electronic items.


The U. S. Department of Homeland Security has issued a security note that restricts a number of items (see below) from being carried in airplane cabins on flights to the United States from 10 international airports (see below). Medical devices required during the flight will still be allowed in the cabin after security screening.

Restricted Items:

  • Laptop computers
  • Tablets
  • Cameras
  • Travel Printers
  • Gaming Devices

Restricted Airports:

  • Mohammed V International, Casablanca, Morocco
  • Ataturk Airport, Istanbul, Turkey
  • Cairo International Airport, Egypt
  • Queen Alia International, Amman, Jordan
  • King Abdulaziz International, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
  • King Khalid International, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • Kuwait International Airport
  • Hamad International, Doha, Qatar
  • Abu Dhabi International, United Arab Emirates
  • Dubai International, United Arab Emirates

Airlines operating direct flights from restricted airports to the United States:

  • Egyptair
  • Emirates Airline
  • Etihad Airways
  • Kuwait Airways
  • Qatar Airways
  • Royal Air Maroc
  • Royal Jordanian Airlines
  • Saudi Arabian Airlines
  • Turkish Airlines

This applies only to flights on foreign carriers and not American-operated airlines.

This policy took affect Tuesday, March 21, 2017 at 3:00 a.m. EDT and must be followed within 96 hours by airlines.


The UK has announced a cabin baggage ban on electronic items on passenger flights from Turkey, Lebanon, Jordan, Egypt, Tunisia and Saudi Arabia.

Restricted items:

  • Laptops
  • Tablets
  • DVD players
  • Phones over a certain size

The ban applies to any device, including mobiles and smart phones, larger than 16cm long, 9.3cm wide or 1.5cm deep.

The six affected UK carriers are:

  • British Airways
  • EasyJet
  • Jet2.com
  • Monarch
  • Thomas Cook
  • Thomson

The eight overseas airlines subject to the ban are:

  • Turkish Airlines
  • Pegasus Airways
  • Atlas-Global Airlines
  • Middle East Airlines
  • Egyptair
  • Royal Jordanian,
  • Tunis Air
  • Saudia

Any affected device will need to be placed into hold luggage and checked in before passengers go through airport security.

1 Like

Does this apply to Power Banks too?

As of that post it was just those restricted items as far as Iā€™m aware, it may be worth your while to check if there is an updated list if you are planning on traveling from any of those airports/airlines.