Automatically close app from task manager from after exit

(Mark Edmonds) #1

Going to use the Barclays app as an example here. When you have the app open and exit from the app or acknowledge a notification etc etc, the app will automatically remove it self from the task manager as a security function so no one could go back in to the app and browse. Quite a secure function indeed. Would be good to get this on the app, after all it is on track to becoming a fully fledged bank!

(Terry) #2

Is this on iOS or Android? I didn’t think apps could do this in iOS although I’m not a developer so not 100% sure.

(Adam) #3

can’t do that on iOS

(Tristan Thomas) #4

Hmmm, that’s interesting :thinking: I didn’t know you could do this

(Mark Edmonds) #5

I’m pretty sure the app on iOS clears the app and takes you back to the login in page.
Android kills the application.
I have linked a video which I recorded. When I click the Barclays app, it will appear black in the recording. Seems that is another built in function for security!
https://goo.gl/photos/RkYm6tWM2kyMxnCy7

(Jonathon) #6

This isn’t possible on iOS so it must be an Android-only function.

(Dan) #7

I don’t really see what difference this makes other than having to reload the entire app back into the RAM each time?

The app has a toggle to make it only accessible with Touch ID and the RAM is encrypted anyway.

This just seems like a waste of time, unless I’m missing something?

(Mark Edmonds) #8

Its a security feature. It forces you to log back in to the application every time your browse away from it. As this is to be a banking app, security is a must.

(Jonathon) #9

With iOS you can just set it to use Touch ID. Whenever you even go out of the app for a moment you need to present your fingerprint to get back in. Incredibly secure!